One Pot Mutton Curry !

IMG_2762[1]

For any meat lovers, eating mutton is like some other feeling which can’t be described. Given a choice, they will always choose mutton over chicken. It’s juicy, flavourful, tasty, melts in your mouth, etc.

When I was a kid, I was never a fan of it. I don’t know the reason for that. I used to end up having just the mutton gravy than the mutton pieces. But around 10 years back, I had gone to one of my family friend’s house for dinner and he made some mutton curry. So as to not be rude, I ate it and that curry just changed my view of eating mutton. Even my mom was shocked that I ate so much of mutton. I don’t know what was about that recipe but I ended up asking for the recipe and telling my mom to make it.

Over the years, as I started cooking, I learnt that recipe and made it. And the love for mutton just grew from there. Now I know 3-4 styles of making mutton curry. According to mom, I have become an expert in making mutton curry. Just happy to hear that.

This recipe is easy and a simple one pot recipe. Not much work needed. I use pressure cook. Makes it easier to cook mutton. Just put all the ingredients one by one and cook. I usually make this recipe on sundays. It’s like a typical sunday mutton curry. Hope you like this recipe.

 

Ingredients :

  • 1 kg mutton, cut into medium pieces
  • 4 onions, finely chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • a bunch of coriander leaves
  • 6-7 green chilies (less or more depending on how much spicy you want)
  • 12-15 garlic cloves
  • 1 1/2 inch of ginger piece
  • 1 tsp of turmeric
  • 1 1/2 tbsp tsp of red chili powder
  • 1-2 tsp of garam masala
  • salt to taste
  • 2-3 tbsp of oil
  • 1 cup water

Method :

  1. To make the green masala, grind together coriander leaves, green chilies, garlic cloves and ginger into a fine paste.
  2. In a bowl, marinate the mutton pieces with the green masala, turmeric and salt. Mix it well and keep it aside.
  3. In a pressure cooker, heat some oil. Add in the chopped onions and fry until they are translucent. Add in the chopped tomatoes and fry for couple of minutes.
  4. Next add in the red chili powder and the garam masala. Fry until the oil leaves the pan.
  5. Next add in the the marinated mutton and fry for a couple of minutes. Add in a cup of water and give a stir.
  6. Put the lid on with a whistle on high heat. After 3 whistles, turned down the heat to low and cook for around 40 mins.
  7. After 40 minutes, switch off the gas and let the pressure cool down. After its cooled, open the cooker and check the seasoning. Mutton Curry is served.

You can enjoy this curry with some bread or steamed rice. Hope you like it.

Happy Cooking !

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

